Why is Delhi Agreement Called Tripartite Agreement?

Delhi Agreement, also known as the Tripartite Agreement, is a significant historical agreement that holds great importance. But have you ever wondered why it is called the Tripartite Agreement? Let’s delve into the details and find out.

The term “Tripartite Agreement” refers to an agreement involving three parties. In the case of the Delhi Agreement, these three parties are India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh. This agreement was signed on August 28, 1973, following the conclusion of the Bangladesh Liberation War and the creation of Bangladesh as an independent nation.

The Delhi Agreement aimed to address various issues between India and Pakistan, specifically related to the repatriation of prisoners of war and the return of civilian internees. It laid out the terms and conditions for the safe and voluntary repatriation of these individuals to their respective countries.

The significance of calling this agreement the Tripartite Agreement lies in the fact that it involved three sovereign nations coming together to resolve a complex and sensitive matter. It showcased the diplomatic efforts and mutual understanding between India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh.

To learn more about the Delhi Agreement and its historical context, you can visit this link.

Related Articles: